Beauty: Real Techniques make-up brushes

IMG_6518
Brushes. Essential voor make-up application. I personally think that make-up tools/brushes are the key for a flawless look, not the make-up itself. You can really only do that beautiful, amazingly high pigmented blush it’s justice, by using a good quality blush brush for the application.

Today I’m going to review the Real Techniques make-up brushes. And let me ‘warn’ you: this review will sound like I’m part of the Real Techniques-team, trying to sell them. (Unfortunately) I’m not. I just think that these babies rock!


Real Techniques brushes are designed by Samantha Chapman. A make-up artist and one of the Pixiwoo sisters. The brushes are synthetic (so cruelty free), extremely soft, multi-functional, have aluminum firm handles and they are very,very well priced considering the fact that the quality is quite high.

A few weeks ago Ive ordered the Starter Set, the Blush Brush, the Expert Face Brush and the Powder Brush.

Starter set

252764597806791900jjjj_ggrqGTfo_c
The Starter Set includes 5 brushes (from L to R):

  •  Delux Crease Brush
    This round shaped brush should be called ‘Perfection’.Honestly, wauw! The brush has very soft and dense bristles. It can be used as a blending brush for the crease or it can be used to apply (under-eye) concealer, eyeshadow, highlighter, eye-shadow base. You name it. Very, very multifunctional. It applies (under-eye) concealer like no other! By far my favorite brush.

  • Base Shadow Brush
    Soft and slighty fluffy. Perfect for eyeshadow application and blending.
  • Accent Brush
    Very precise brush. For applying highlighter in the inner corner, for smudging eyeliner or you can even use this as a lip brush. Multifunctional-ism all over the place!

  • Pixel-Point eyeliner brush
    Alright, I have to admit that this one may seem a bit too big to use as an eyeliner brush. For me, it works perfect though. I use the very tip of the brush to apply my eyeliner. You can also use this brush as a lip brush.

  • Brow Brush
    At first I thought this was not going to work, because of the fact that the brush is not very stiff. But that was not a problem at all. What I really like about this brush is that it picks up the product (brow-powder) very well. Now I do want to emphasize that if you have very fine eyebrows this brush may be too big for you.


Price: $18

 

Blush Brush, Expert Face Brush, Powder Brush

P1050816_zps64310ded

  • Blush Brush
    I simply adore this brush. Soft. Fluffy. Picks up the product very well. Blends the blush per-fect-ly and gives that airbrushes finish. Because of the shape (slightly pointed), you will pick up the right amount of product and it gives the opportunity to really built up the blush.O and did I mention that it’s extremely soft? Applying blush has never been this relaxing. No joke.
    Price: $ 9,00

  • Face Expert Brush
    The Face Expert Brush is a very dense foundation brush (because of the narrow shape). Applies (cream and liquid) foundation heavenly. If you want a lil’ extra coverage, this brush will do the job. It provides a really flawless finish without leaving any streak marks. Bravo!
    Price: $ 9,00

  • Powder Brush
    Soft. Soft. Soft. Ridiculously soft guys. The density and the shape of the brush is perfect to pick up the right amount of (loose) powder. Dab in into your powder, tap off any excess and lightly apply it to your face. I promise, no cakey effect.
    Price: $10,00


brushes
All these three face brushes are self-standing.

bruses2
After  a few weeks of use and after washing them 4 times.
The bristles didn’t shed and they were dry before I was done sipping my tea (FYI, I like to drink my tea very fast). So, very,very quick.

Alright, would I recommend these brushes? 
If you like to use brushes for make-up application: absolutely.  If you like an air-brushed effect: absolutely. If you don’t like to spend a lot of money on brushes: absolutely. If you’re looking for good quality brushes: ab-so-lu-tly.

Where to buy?
So I did some research and I can say that buying them on iherb.com (like I did) is the cheapest alternative. Note: credit-card only. You can use the discount code ATA717 to safe $5 on your first iherb-order.

Alternatives:
– alicejo.com
-Ulta
-Walmart
-Boots
-hqhair.com

For a full list you can click here.
You can take a look at their website for the rest of the collection.

Leave a Reply

